What are your tips for getting starting in Tech without a degree?

I’ve been getting this question a lot lately. So many persons are pivoting into tech, seeing value to the community and opportunities for themselves. Help a fellow out. What’s your top advice for starting in tech without a degree?

A good Portfolio. Having a nice little website or place where you can digitally showcase your skills remains highly important. Do some personal projects that will catch the eyes of onlookers and add them to your portfolio.

How to get started in Tech without a degree?

I’ve gotten the question many times over the last few years and I’ll answer it based on my experience. By the way, I’m a web developer so it might be biased in that regard. My top advice is to stop waiting for someone to come down with golden manuscripts, do your research and start learning something that you’re interested in now. Many persons I’ve talked to have said that they are not ready and good things come to those who wait, however, greater things come to those who take action. Time is a finite resource that waits for no man.

How do I know what I want to learn?